Posted by: missionventureministries | July 22, 2010

I AM THE VINE YOU ARE THE BRANCHES

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.” John 15:1-4

Jesus said that He is the vine and we are the branches. If we abide in him we will bear fruit. Abide means to remain, to stay and to dwell. In other words, if we dwell with Him and He dwells with us, we will bear the fruit of the Spirit which is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness (Galatians 5:22). And that is the greatest harvest we could hope for.

All of us are planting something in our lives every single day, whether we realize it or not. And we are also reaping whatever we have planted in the past. The quality of our lives right now is the result of what we planted and harvested some time before. We reap the good and the bad for years after we have sown. That is why it is so important to plant and nurture the right seeds now.

If we want to bear good fruit, we need to ask God to help us plant good seeds and pull up any weeds that may have grown up around our soul. We need to feed the soil of our hearts with the food of God’s Word and ask the Holy Spirit to water it afresh every day.

As long as we abide faithfully in the true Vine, He will empower us to bear good fruit.

Lord, where I need to be pruned in order to bear more fruit, I submit myself to You. I know that without You I can do nothing. You are the Vine and I am the branch. I must abide in You in order to bear fruit. Help me to do that. Thank You for Your promise that if I abide in You and Your Word abides in me I can ask what I desire and it will be done for me (John 15:7)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

