Posted by: missionventureministries | June 27, 2011

MY SHEEP HEAR MY VOICE – John 10:27-29

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. – John 10:27-29

What a wonderful and reassuring passage this is to the true believer. The Lord Jesus is telling that those who are His are His for all eternity. He is holding them in His hand and is caring for those that the Father has given Him.

Six separate statements are made concerning “My sheep”:

(1) Listen to my voice,

(2) I know them,

(3) they follow Me,

(4) I give them eternal life,

(5) they shall never perish, and

(6) no one will snatch them out of my hand.

These are six distinct things said about those who are His sheep.

The sheep belong to Christ; they are “My sheep.” They are His because He, “The Good Shepherd gives His life for the sheep” – John 10:11. He purchased them with His own blood. And they have been given to Him by the Father. Ownership means lordship. That which is owned has no right of will contrary to the will of the owner. It has liberty to go, only within the limits granted by the owner. It is perfectly clear then, that the Good Shepherd does not grant His sheep what has cost Him so much to place in His own hand for safety. And the sheep (the true believer), would never want to leave their beloved Savior’s presence.

God’s hand is a hand that holds. When a father or a mother hold the hand of a small child to lead him or her safely through some place of real danger, that father or mother will not let that little hand go, even though the child might try to pull away. 

Just as a shepherd protects his sheep, the security of Jesus’ sheep rests with Him as the Good Shepherd, who has the power to keep them safe and to protect His sheep from eternal harm. Satan can not harm their souls or take away their eternal life with God. Verse 29 makes clear that the Father ultimately stands behind the sheep’s security, for no one is able to take from God, who is in sovereign control of all things (Colossians 3:3 – For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God).

There is no stronger passage in the Old or New Testament for the absolute, eternal security of every true believer. The question left then is, has the sheep (the true believer) the power to remove himself from God’s  hand contrary to His will and purpose? To admit this, would be to contradict Jesus’ words: “My Father . . . is greater than all.” The “all” includes the sheep. It also would contradict His words, “they shall never perish.” The true believer will never perish; he will also never want to disobey or leave his Savior’s side, because he has made Jesus his true Lord and Redeemer of his life and cherishes the ultimate sacrifice paid for him on the cross.

When Jesus said, “My sheep shall never perish,” it is unconditional and final. It is to be accepted in simple faith and made the subject of rejoicing and thanksgiving.

John 6:37-39 states: “All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me; that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

