Posted by: missionventureministries | August 12, 2012

I WILL PUT MY TRUST IN GOD – Psalm 56:3-4

When I am afraid, I will put my trust in You. 4 In God, whose word I praise, in God I have put my trust; I shall not be afraid. What can mere man do to me? – Psalm 56:3-4 

According to the introductory statement to this Psalm, David wrote this when he had been seized by the Philistines in Gath (1 Samuel 21:10-15), and starts this Psalm expressing his situation and his fear. From this initial fear, he puts his trust in God – which is the only response we should have to any situation. 

When we look to God and read His word, it will bring any situation back into perspective and the realization that if we trust in the Lord, there is no need to be afraid, for He is greater than anything that we fear. In David’s case, this was the enemies surrounding him, for us it can be anything that threatens and frightens us. 

If we think about it, we realize that we do not see the fullness of our hope in God until fear arrives and causes us to lean on God and place our trust in Him.  

David openly acknowledges that he was afraid. To be afraid means to be fearful of someone or something that is dangerous, can cause us pain, or is threatening. It is a normal instinct and a reality we all have to deal with at one time or another. It is not a weakness we have, it is an element that arises from the fact that we live in a fallen and sinful world. It only becomes a problem, for a believer, when it begins to be the most compelling factor in our life, causing us to respond more to the fear than to the Lord who indwells us and promises us He will take care of us and protect us. 

Fear is one of these things, designed to make us feel that we “need” God, and to lead us to Him when we realize that we have no power to save ourselves from impending dangers. 

I will put my trust in You – as the only One that is able to save; this is the only action that can calm the mind in the midst of danger.  

We deal with fear by choosing to trust in God, by praising His name and His word. Our praise and worship to God expresses our love for Him and acknowledges His love for us and “perfect love casts out fear” (1 John 4:18). With the love and promises of God residing in us, flowing through us, what can any mere man do to us? 

We can absolutely trust in God and His word because the Lord says: “Fear not for I am with you, be not dismayed for I am your God…” (Isaiah 41:10) 

Trusting God:

  • Produces evidence of our faith
  • Brings peace and satisfaction
  • Brings help in times of need
  • Brings joy in the present and assures us of eternal joy  

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the defense of my life; whom shall I dread? – Psalm 27:1 

We need to remember that our confidence must always be in God, He is our light and our salvation. Therefore, what can mere man do to me?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

