Posted by: missionventureministries | August 31, 2013

FOREGIVENESS IS A CHOICE WE MUST MAKE EVERY DAY – Matthew 6:14

Forgiveness - Matthew 6 vs 14

Forgiveness is a decision, not a feeling. If we wait for good feelings, we could end up waiting a lifetime to forgive someone. We need to ask God to give us a forgiving heart. We need to pray for those who have hurt us and it is amazing how God softens our hearts when we pray for people.

Everything we do in life that has eternal value hinges on the two greatest commandments. Loving God and loving others. “Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” (Matthew 22:37-39)

One of the most loving things we can do is to forgive. It is hard to forgive those who have hurt, offended, or mistreated us. But God wants us to love them and our enemies. In the process of doing so, he perfects us.

Forgiveness opens our heart and mind and allows the Holy Spirit to work freely in us. It releases us to love God more and to feel His love in greater measure.

Don’t let unforgiveness limit what God wants to do in your life.

– – – – – – – – –

Lord, where there is distance between me and any other family member because of unforgiveness, I pray You would break down that wall. Help me to be an instrument of reconciliation. Make me understand the depth of Your forgiveness toward me, so that I will be able to forgive others.

I don’t want anything to come between You and me, Lord. I choose this day to forgive those that have trespassed against me and to walk free from the death that unforgiveness brings. I know that I cannot be a light to others as long as I am walking in the darkness of unforgiveness.

Help me to forgive myself for the times I have failed. Enable me to love my enemies as you have commanded in Your word. Teach me to bless those who curse me and persecute me. Make me a person who is quick to forgive, Lord.

I choose to walk in the light as You are in the light and be cleansed from the sin of unforgiveness and all sin.

If you forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. Matthew 6:14

Leave a Reply

Categories

