Posted by: missionventureministries | June 15, 2017

HOW TO PRAY USING SCRIPTURE – Psalm 145:18

The Lord is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth. (Psalm 145:18) 

When we look at the life of Christ, we see that His relationship with the Father determined everything He did (John 5:19-20). Jesus’ prayer life was dynamic and creative. He prayed early; He prayed late. He prayed when He was busy, when He had big decisions to make, after performing miracles, and when He was full of sorrow.  

He found strength and a comfort through communion with the Father. He didn’t spend every moment alone with the Father, but He invested every second of His life in God’s presence.  

God loves it when we pray using His Word! God knows that His Word is our best weapon against the things of this world. Therfore, find a quiet time and place and begin with a brief prayer like: O Lord, I need you, I come seeking you and needing help. “Open my eyes that I may behold wondrous things out of your word” (Psalm 119:18). 

Praying Scripture gives us strenght, as it creates an intimate relationship with the Creator. When we are at a loss for words on how to pray in any situation we face, praying Scripture helps us to do it in a way that is pleasing to God. For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).  

Here are a few examples that will help you with your prayer life. If you are new at praying, speak to the Father as if you were speaking to your best friend, because He is your best Friend. 

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:7). 

Dear God, I acknowledge my need for you today. I claim your peace that transcends all understanding. Please guard my hearts and show me how to protect my mind. I know that at times I am weak, therefore I fall back on Your strength today. Thank you for being near to me, guiding me and equipping me in my daily walk. In Jesus’ name. Amen. 

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you” (Psalm 56:3). 

Dear Lord, I choose to put my trust in you today. When anxious thoughts take over my mind, it’s easy to take my eyes off of you and feel afraid. But I choose to put my trust in You Lord. Because in You, whose word I praise, I have put my trust; I will not be afraid because what can mere man do to me? (Psalm 56:3-4). Thank you for giving me this awesome assurance. Amen. 

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10). 

Dear Jesus, thank you for always being with me. Your name, Immanuel, means God with us. I’m so grateful today that You are near to me no matter what anxious thoughts might try to creep into my mind. Thank you for being my strength when I feel weak. Thank you for upholding me and never letting me fall. You are faithful, always. I love you, Lord, and I will rely on Your strength today and every day of my life. Amen. 

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7). 

Thank you Lord for these assuring words. I am grateful that You have given me a sound mind to understand the truth of your Holy Scripture. Also thank you for a loving heart, may I always love others as You love me (John 15:12). Thank you Lord for Your inexpressible gifts! (2 Corinthians 9:15). Amen. 

Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9). 

Dear Father, I know that in You I am a conqueror. Sometimes, it can feel so hard to believe that. Thank you for this encouragement and for being by my side. Amen.  

The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit” (Psalm 34:18) 

Lord, my heart feels broken, my mind is restless and my spirit is uneasy. When I feel broken down or defeated, I run to you, knowing you are always present and always near. Please help me and guide me through this difficult situation, please give me wisdom and heal my spirit. Thank you for comforting me, Jesus. In Your mighty and holy name, amen. 

“The Lord will give strength to His people; the Lord will bless His people with peace” (Psalm 29:11). 

Lord, thank you for giving me strength. When I am having a hard time, help me to remember that You are never far away. I need to remember to be still, and know that you are my God (Psalm 46:10) and that you will never leave me or forsake me as I obey your precepts. Thank you for all Your many blessing. Amen. 

“The Lord bless you and keep you;

25 The Lord make His face shine upon you, And be gracious to you;

26 The Lord lift up His countenance upon you, And give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

